And So It Ends

And so, finally, we arrive at my last destination. Italia!
Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes… all the answers to your questions are: YES!
Yes, I went on a gondola ride.
Yes, I saw the Leaning Tower of Pizza.
Yes, I went to the Vatican.
Yes, I saw the Colosseum.
Yes, I threw money into the Trevi Fountain. (I think it went in)
Yes, I saw the Sixteen Chapels. 🙂

But if you haven’t noticed, I hardly show photos of buildings and landscape. It’s mostly people. I’m more drawn to people and their faces. So, bear (or is it ‘bare’) with me as I show photos of people I encountered in Italy.

Street ItalyI love the bus (and public transportation). You never know who will be sitting by you. This was on the bus ride to Venice. She’s so happy with her baby! Cute! Did you notice the baby? I hope so…

Street Italy“That’s amore!”
Actually, we went on a non-singing gondola ride.

Street ItalyNo, this kid isn’t blind or handicapped in any way. He just blinked as I snapped the shutter. I liked the lightning of the photo (when it was in color) so I wanted to post it. He was just drawing on the sidewalk.

Street ItalyYes, this is like the zillionth photo of an old person. But there’s something about wrinkles on a person that draws me to them. Much, much older people who have very defined wrinkles are interesting to me. People who have little wrinkles- not so much.

Street ItalyIt rained while we were in Florence. We were strolling through the Leather Market when the thunder started booming and then the rain started falling. My mom always carries an umbrella with her, rain or shine, so we were cool.

Street ItalyShe really likes selling produce.
We hopped into the mercantile to avoid some of the rain.
When you go to Italy and IF you choose to do some farmers marketing, you do NOT touch the produce. You ask THEM to touch the food. It’s standard etiquette over there.

Street ItalyHow much time do I have?
Rome (and Venice) is all about time. Everyone’s always rushing to get from one place to another. It’s like NYC. I love NYC.

Two-plus weeks of my life was spent on planes, trains, buses and automobiles. I had to pack and re-pack, going from hotel to hotel to hotel. I walked all over the place. I had to wake up early but sleep late. Between delayed flights and 9+ hours of travel time on some days, I was exhausted. Would I have traded it for sleep and rest? NOT A CHANCE.

I really hope you all enjoyed the pictures I’ve posted over the last 5 days.

From the bottom of my heart, Merci, Gracias, Obrigado and Grazie to all the people who let me photograph them, and to those who had no idea I was.

And thank YOU to all those who take the time to visit my blog. 🙂

6 thoughts on “And So It Ends

    • hey Jay!
      man, those guys and their website blocking! ARGH!
      But, thanks for visiting, anyways. 🙂
      How about on your phone? You can always peep irmy.me mobile-style! 😀

Leave a comment